The Heart’s Pondered Treasures

I’ve been trying to write a blog for weeks now but it took the motivation of a marine biology final to make Danielle think, “I would much rather blog than study cetaceans.” Airgo, this post.

I could give excuses why I haven’t blogged in awhile, but I guess the main theme of my reasoning is that there have been so many places my moccasins have walked, so many places I misplaced my sunglasses (why is it those are always the first thing missing), and so many places my nose has been splashed by the sea that reciting them to you would be impossible. In these moments… all I could do was ponder. Not like when Thomas Edison was trying to figure out the light bulb but more like treasuring up my pondered thoughts in my heart…like Mary.

“So they hurried off and found Mary and Joseph, and the baby, who was lying in the manger. When they had seen him, they spread the word concerning what had been told them about this child, and all who heard it were amazed at what the shepherds said to them. But Mary treasured up all these things and pondered them in her heart.The shepherds returned, glorifying and praising God for all the things they had heard and seen, which were just as they had been told.”–Luke 2:16-20

How overwhelmed was Mary by wonder and speechlessness after giving birth to Jesus, the Savior of the world? How could she ever put into the words how the Holy Spirit overshadowed her, choosing her to be the mother of a King, and performing a miracle in her tummy to give birth to a baby who would be tempted in every way but would not sin? He took an imperfect human girl and placed her on a journey in which each moment could only be treasured and pondered in her heart.  Though Mary and I are under different times in history and different circumstances, I can relate a little to the awe of beauty and wonder of our Heavenly Father in her heart.

 

My heart is full of treasured things that I have experienced in Costa Rica. These treasures may be told to you over a coffee, some may kept hidden from my parents (mom: don’t worry, just a couple 😉 ), some may not be told until I am 80 years old and a song or scent brings back a memory that I didn’t even know was a memory because I hadn’t let my mind remember it since the time it happened. But there is only one person who shares in my treasures. He is not just the creator and giver of these treasures but my ultimate treasure, Jesus Christ.

I am beyond thankful for these treasures God has given me. He has given them to me when I have been impatient, frustrated, and selfish. As you may have read at the beginning of my journey I admit, I was a little scared when I arrived.  I heard the horror stories of muggings and dangers and I began to look at Costa Rica as a place that I felt pity for. But after living three months here, my pity is gone and instead of pity, I realize there are sorrows and beauty over the entire Earth.

‘Here is the world. Beautiful and terrible things will happen. Don’t be afraid.’ –Frederick Buechner

Yes, Costa Rica may have barbed wire around their buildings. But yet they have a love for people that comes before any appointment or work, and a relaxing, chill, way of life. Not that they are lazy ( in fact they are very hardworking) , but they don’t worry. And last time I checked , Matthew 6:34 said  to not worry, be anxious, or have set plans for the next day. Yet in America, we are constantly worried with lists upon lists of plans and schedules that are impossible to achieve without a smile on the face.

Both places consist of beautiful, beautiful people created by God. They may pronounce their vowels differently or greet each other with a kiss or no kiss, but they are so precious to God and further show His creativity.

I may not be able to share with you every treasured moment that happened to me, but I do hope that as I carried my Germany world back to America with me freshmen year I will carry my lovely Costa Rican world back with me and  that it will overflow into my actions and interactions.

One thing that I know that I know that I know… God loves you. And He loves people. And He will use anyone or any circumstance to reach His people. And the people He reaches are all differently wired but He equips us and gives us all we need and more to love people the way Christ loved us. Being here I have met people that I quickly felt the need to care for and love on. And some people I tried to but the moment left too quickly. But I learned that I am not Jesus Christ. I am not the Savior of the World, thank goodness. But I am a vessel moved by the sails of the Holy Spirit. I am born with a rudder in my heart for travel and a compass that points me to God’s lost and beloved. I am built to carry people in my heart across many distanced seas, where our eyes seek through an earthly telescope an eternal heavenly island. Our joy can only be compared to dancing sea waves and given by the One who walked on waves.

 

Now my first post in Costa Rica was titled “From Humming to Dancing.” I  believe the Lord has not only given me  a pondering treasured-filled heart  like Mary’s but a joy like David’s:

“David was dancing before the Lord with all his might, while he and all Israel were bringing up the ark of the Lord with shoutsand the sound of trumpets.”

When he was questioned by his dancing and praise He answered…

“It was before the Lord…I will celebrate before the Lord. I will become even more undignified than this.”

–2 Samuel 6

Some may question why I love Jesus so much. Some may see it as silly that I refuse to settle down but have feet that want to walk new lands and meet new people while going deeper with the ones I’ve already met. But all I can answer is this: I hope to do all that I do before God and celebrate what He has given me through the LIFE He has given me. I am not perfect Danielle. I mess up. No one is perfect. But Jesus IS perfect and I’ve asked him to be my hands and feet and when I mess up to cleanse me and help me get back up so I can strive to be more like Him. Why? Because He is love. And what this world needs is to see love. Love that is not selfish but sacrificial. That is patient. Kind. Not jealous. Not boastful. Not prideful.

A very dear, prayerful, soley God-given friend sent this to me weeks ago and it summed up my experience completely here in Costa Rica. It is now a tune in my heart that my feet dance to daily, and I hope you not only hum the tune in your own lives, but dance before God undignified to these words:

“We all want to see the glory of the Lord cover the earth as waters cover the sea (Hab. 2:14). I pray that Jesus will draw you deeper still. I pray that you can lie down, giving and trusting everything to Him so that He can trust you with everyone. And when you get up, there will be revival – whole nations will come to Him, falling on their faces. He changes us with one glance of His eyes so that we are not afraid to be completely abandoned in His arms.” – Heidi Baker

Leave a Reply

